Adam Chavez

On Entrepreneurship, Marketing, & Tech

Adam Chavez header image 2

Beware of TaggedMail.com scam - Tagged.com Wants Your Credit Card info

June 6th, 2009 · 1 Comment · Journal

Update Jun 24 1:47PM: I just received a note from Greg Tseng — he wrote a public statement that you can see here: http://blog.tagged.com/?p=4

Update Jun 6 11:08PM: It looks like the CEO, Greg Tseng, has a bit of a history with spamming people to get businesses off the ground. See http://dir.salon.com/story/tech/feature/2002/08/07/crushmaster/index2.html

I contacted him to get his side of the story. If I hear back from him I’ll report it here.

Just got this email from a friend of mine — but he didn’t send it. It’s from a site called Tagged.com or TaggedMail.com — the scam apparently wants you to sign up at their site, and give them your email and credit-card info. It is not clear whether the site sells a legitimate product or service, but their marketing tactics are certainly immoral. Breaking into people’s email accounts and sending out false emails ain’t a good way to build trust with the community.

It appears that once you’ve given them your email Tagged.com adds your email to a list — so the spam will only get worse.

If you get an email like this below are a few steps you might want to take to make sure nobody else gets tricked:

1. Delete the email
2. Email your friend to recommend that they email the people in their address book to make sure others don’t fall for the phishing scam
3. Advise your friend from whom the message was sent to change their email password of the sending account

Hope this helps!

P.S. You can read about other people who have been attacked by this scam at this live search on Twitter: http://search.twitter.com/search?q=taggedmail

Tags: ··

1 response so far ↓

  • 1 Treece // Jun 17, 2009 at 8:01 am

    I would probably chalk this up to someone trying to get you to believe it’s a social networking site, such as sending you an email saying someone viewed your profile on Facebook. Tagged.com itself is just a new social networking site, though I would not recommend anyone to pay for the stuff you can get on Facebook or Myspace.

Leave a Comment